Before I go to sleep

On my travels today, I dropped by to my local library and peered through a pile of books in their book sale. A hard back caught my eye. The cover was black, with a deep red rectangular shapes and yellow semi circles and lines going through the cover. The picture was of those dangling objects that you use outside in the gardens or to entertain new born babies, what do you call them?! Ah, I can’t remember. It’s on the tip of my tongue. Are they called mobiles I wonder? Maybe. Anyway the book is a modern classic. The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. I noticed this book at a another time, perhaps at a book store. I wanted to buy it. That time I did not. This time, I did exactly that. The book in mint condition, crisp clean pages. No smears or marks. One of my high light of today. Once I opened the book, I was completely hooked. Even though I have seen the film which stars Matt Damon and Jude Law, it’s still a delight to read. I just love books that are dated in the fifties or twenties era. So romantic. Perhaps it was the book cover that seduced me. Or the most intelligent mathematical Thomas “Tom” Ripley. It’s not very often you see a person walk to down the street reading a book, like I was. With my head hidden inside the pages and every so often check my surroundings if it is safe to cross the road. As today’s day of age, you would see children and adults walking with their mobile phones, androids or iPhones catching Pokemons, listening to music or speaking at their phones. Good night now. Have a pleasant evening.

Leave a Reply

