Capture Life

************************************CONTAINS SPOILERS ABOUT FILM ’12 Years A Slave”**********

I went to the cinema yesterday, to see a film called “12 Years a Slave”.  It was so sad, violent and shocking.  I cannot believe that this is based on a true story about a free man called Solomon Northup who got deceived, kidnapped into slavery.  It shows the violent and aggressive side of being a black man.  The cruelty.  It focuses on not just the main character but also on the women.  What horrible they have to do, to survive.  The elderly couple who sat behind us (my husband and I) was crying.  I thought I was going to cry, I didn’t.

On the way home, it got me thinking. At the beginning, before the film began the screen said if anyone is recording this movie (like making a piracy copy) will be fined.  What got me thinking, after you watch a film, you go home with memories of the film, scenes locked inside of your head.  Would you be fined for this?  Of course not, right?  Don’t you think that is some form of recording in your mind?

Also, the film made me compare it to my life.  Ok, the film is based in the old days – pre civic war – 1853 time.  It made me think, no matter hard your life gets, you have to survive.  Live.  

There are some good people in the world like Brad Pitt’s character, who are scared, but do it for justice.

I want justice.  I am currently going through a horrible section at my current work.  I don’t want to talk about it.  I want it to end.  It feels like certain bad people are getting away.  I want justice.  I don’t want to be treated unfairly.  Yet I am.  This film made me think about my life and how I have to be fight.  Solomon Northup’s role – no matter how horrible things were for him, he tried and tried to escape.  I am not escaping.  I am trying to fight, just like Northup is.      

 

 

Leave a Reply

